Gun charges are serious criminal charges under New Jersey law. A weapons conviction on your record can make it hard to find employment and even hard to find a place to live. When up against charges like this, you need a defense attorney committed to your cause.Charged with a crime in New Jersey? Please call (888) 205-9314
While the 2nd Amendment to our Constitution guarantees our right to bear arms, New Jersey and other states across the country reserve the right to regulate this. This means everything from what weapon you own to how you use it is controlled by state laws.
It isn’t difficult to break a gun law when you own a firearm. There are many ways to get yourself into trouble with a weapon and facing criminal charges as a result is an extremely stressful thing.
Prohibited Weapons in New Jersey
There are some weapons you just simple can’t own. If caught in possession of any of the weapons listed here you could face charges just for having them.
- Sawed off shotgun
- Defaced firearms
- Destructive devices (explosives, etc.)
- Body armor penetrating bullets,
- Daggers, switchblades, and stilettos
Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you could be facing a crime in the 3rd or 4th degree for possessing any one of these weapons. Such a charge can result in up to 5 years in prison if convicted.
Ref: NJ. Stat. § 2C:39-3
Possession of Weapons for Unlawful Purposes – NJ Laws & Penalties
This law is written in such a way that it can be applied to many situations, and charged accordingly. You cannot be found in possession of a weapon when the intended purpose is unlawful or to cause injury to someone. This means you can face this charge without even using the weapon.
If the weapon in your case is a firearm, the possession of weapons for unlawful purposes charge is a crime in the 2nd degree which carries a potential 10 years in prison.
This charge is not the same as having an unregistered weapon. For charges like that, see the criminal offense below.
Ref: NJ. Stat. §2C:39-4
Unlawful Possession of Weapons – NJ Laws & Penalties
This charge refers to possessing a weapon when the proper permits are not in order, and/or without legal authorization to possess, own or carry a weapon. If you are caught with a firearm and are not registered to have it, you could face this charge. This is one of the most common firearms offenses under New Jersey law.
If the weapon is a handgun, the offense is a crime of the 2nd degree carrying up to 10 years in prison. If, however, it is a rifle or shotgun, the charge is a crime of the 3rd degree and carries up to 5 years behind bars.
Ref: NJ. Stat. §2C:39-5
Free Consultation on New Jersey Gun Charges
These are just a few of the most common gun charges that I see in the New Jersey criminal courts. There are dozens more, however. No matter which charge you are facing, you need serious legal help.
When facing charges of this magnitude, it’s normal to feel mad and unfairly treated. These types of crimes do carry a dark stigma even when your intention in your mind was not criminal.
Call me today so we can discuss the details of your case and how to best go about handling it. Having dealt with many weapons violations before, I am prepared to help you with yours.
Call Now for a Criminal Consultation