Being charged with DWI is scary enough. However this is one area where experience doesn’t help. If you are facing charges of DWI and this isn’t your first time, you will face increased penalties upon conviction.Charged with a crime in New Jersey? Please call (800) 673-3656
You may be facing a second offense based on a past mistake that seems like ancient history to you. But that doesn’t mean you are guilty of the charge.
Whatever happened that led you to this point, it’s my job to fight on your behalf, and challenge the court to prove every element of the case against you. You are absolutely innocent until proven guilty.
But the stakes are definitely higher with second or multiple offense charges. The law has strict penalties awaiting those people who have subsequent DWI convictions.
New Jersey Second Offense DWI Penalties
If you are found to be driving with a blood alochol content of more than .08% and this is the second violation, you will face the following potential penalties:
- A fine of $500- $1,000,
- Jail time of 48 hours to 90 days,
- Community service, and
- Two years license suspension.
New Jersey DWI – Third or Subsequent Violation – Penalties
- Fine of $1,000
- Up to 180 days in jail or inpatient rehabilitation, and
- 10 years of drivers license suspension.
New Jersey Ignition Interlock Laws
If you are convicted of a multiple offense DWI in New Jersey, you may also be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your car when your driving privileges are reinstated. An ignition interlock device is a lock on your car that prevents you from starting the vehicle until you have successfully submitted to an alcohol breath test.
Defending a 2nd or Multiple Offense DWI in New Jersey
Having defended many drunk driving cases, I know there are many ways to successfully defend someone against charges like this.
The truth is, a 2nd offense isn’t necessarily tougher to fight than a first offense DWI. And often, it makes sense to challenge the evidence against you. And given that you face significant license loss and possible jail time if you just plead guilty, fighting the charges may make sense.
We can discuss the benefits and risks of a potential for a plea agreement with the prosecution as well. As your attorney, all I care about is representing you fairly and making sure your interests are served in court.
DWI charges are not the end of your world. Though these charges may have you feeling stressed and frightened about the future, I can help put your mind at ease. Call me today for a free consultation.
Call Now for a Criminal Consultation