Being charged with a serious drug offense like possession with intent or distribution can be a life changing experience. If you are caught up in the legal system facing charges as heavy as drug distribution, or possession with intent to distribute in New Jersey, you have every right to fear for your future. I can help.Charged with a crime in New Jersey? Please call (800) 673-3656
I have successfully handled many major drug cases in the criminal courts of New Jersey. I know the local players in the local courts and I know the drug statues in New Jersey, and I fight to win. I also understand that each case is unique and treat all of my clients with the individualized attention they need.
From challenging the search which the arrest was based upon, to negotiating a fair plea agreement with the prosecution, I am ready to use my criminal courtroom experience to fight for you, and work to ensure you get the best possible results.
New Jersey drug statutes classify controlled substances differently, which effects the charges brought, and the potential penalties and sentencing, if convicted of the charges.
Distribution of Heroin/Cocaine
The most serious drug charges are saved for those people accused of selling heroin or cocaine. If you are accused of having more than 5 ounces of heroin or cocaine, you will face 1st degree criminal charges and a potential sentence of up to 20 years with fines reaching $500,000. You will be required to serve at least 1/3 of the original sentence before you are even eligible for parole or other release.
If you are accused of selling more than ½ ounce and less than 5 ounces of heroin or cocaine, the charge will be a 2nd degree crime and carry 5-10 years in prison and $150,000 in fines.
If you are facing charges of selling less than ½ ounce of these substances, you will face 3rd degree criminal charges, 3-5 years in prison and $75,000 in fines.
Distribution of Methamphetamine
|More than 5 ounces½ ounce to 5 ounces
Less than ½ ounce
|Up to 20 years in prison and $300,000 in fines.Up to 10 years and $150,000 in fines.
Up to 5 years and $75,000 in fines.
Other Drugs / Controlled Substances – NJ Penalties
If you are accused of selling or attempting to sell any other Schedule I or II substance and the amount in question is greater than one ounce, you will face charges of a second degree crime which can carry up o 10 years in prison and $150,000 in fines.
If the drug is a Schedule I or II and the amount is less than 1 ounce, you may face up to 5 years and fines reaching $75,000.
If the case against you is strong, and we think a conviction is likely, we can discuss the possibility of working out a fair plea agreement with the prosecution.
However, if you are innocent of the charges against you, we can make sure your rights are protected and defended, and fight for the justice you deserve.
I have successfully won drug cases as serious as first degree offenses, including being an accused drug leader. These cases are winnable.
New Jersey criminal laws surrounding drugs can be confusing. When you are facing charges like this, the last thing you need is something else to worry about. If you are up against charges of distribution or other similar serious drug offenses call me immediately for a free consultation with a Certified Criminal Trial Attorney..
Call Now for a Criminal Consultation