Being without a driver’s license is a major inconvenience. Being charged with driving while that license is suspended, however, is a far more serious matter. When you are accused of the New Jersey criminal charge of driving with a suspended of revoked license, I can protect your rights in court.Charged with a crime in New Jersey? Please call (888) 205-9314
You may not have even realized your driving privileges had been revoked. Unfortunately, the court doesn’t see that your lack of knowledge is a valid excuse for driving. Not being aware of the suspension is not a legal defense on it’s own.
Emergencies happen. You may not have felt like you had a choice when you got behind the wheel that day. While I can’t guarantee your charges will be dropped, I will work on your behalf to ensure you get the best possible outcome in court.
Why Was My Driver’s License Suspended?
Your license can be suspended for a number of reasons. Typically it’s due to an accumulation of points on your driving record.
Each traffic violation earns you points and these points aren’t the good kind. Too many of these points and you will lose your license.
What kind of penalty am I facing?
When you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you can face fines and even jail time. The severity of your penalty depends on how many times you’ve been caught in this situation before.
First Offense: For your first charge of driving on suspension you will be fined $500
Second Offense: If this isn’t the first time this has happened, you will have to pay a fine of $750 and spend 1 to 5 days in jail
Third or Greater Offense: For your third or greater offense of driving on suspension, you will have to pay a fine of $10,000 and spend up to 10 days in jail.
Accident Involving Injury: If you are charged with driving while license suspended and you are involved in an accident where someone is injured, you can face an additional 45 to 180 days in jail.
For any of these charges, your period of suspension will likely be extended an additional 6 months and you will be required to surrender your vehicle registration and plates.
Ref: NJ Stat. §39:3-40
I know how stressful it can be to try and exist without driving privileges. Depending on friends and family to give you rides can get old for you and for them. This kind of hassle can put a strain on your relationships.
Maybe you thought you wouldn’t get caught or perhaps you weren’t aware of the suspension. Either way, I can help. Contact me today to discuss what we can do to make things right again.
Call Now for a Criminal Consultation