Being charged with a disorderly conduct offense isn’t the end of the world. But if you are like most people, and have never been accused of a criminal charge, it is frightening and potentially life altering. It is more important now than ever that you have someone in your corner looking out for your best interests.Charged with a crime in New Jersey? Please call (800) 673-3656
Whether you got caught up in the moment of a celebration and things got out of hand or if you got into a fight—this offense can cover many behaviors.
I have worked with many clients defending disorderly conduct charges. I know how criminal charges can affect your life, even long before your trial date. I hope to have the opportunity to help you through this trying time.
New Jersey Disorderly Conduct Laws
Many people ask “What does disorderly conduct mean?”
Disorderly conduct is a general offense that can encompass many behaviors. In other words, the statute is open to interpretation and many things can fall under it. Generally, disorderly conduct is considered acting with “improper behavior” or with “offensive language”.
You may be charged with disorderly conduct using improper behavior if you act to cause inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm by
- Engaging in fighting, threatening, or violent and tumultuous behavior, or
- creating a dangerous condition that serves no legitimate purpose
You can also face charges of disorderly conduct for “offensive language” when it is used to offend people within hearing distance in a reckless disregard for them. Typically, offensive language is that which is loud, coarse, or abusive.
In either case, disorderly conduct is considered a disorderly persons offense punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines.
Ref: NJ Stat. §2C: 33-2
New Jersey Rioting Criminal Charge
When someone says “rioting” images of mass chaos, looting and violence likely come to mind. However, the legal definition of rioting is far from that.
You may be charged with rioting if you are accused as participating with 4 or more people in any of the following situations:
- With the purpose to commit or facilitate the commission of a crime,
- to prevent or coerce official action, or
- when any of the participants uses or plans to use a deadly weapon.
This offense is considered a crime in the 3rd degree punishable by 3 to 5 years in prison.
A slightly lesser and related offense is called “failure of disorderly persons to disperse”. This is a disorderly persons offense and carries a potential sentence of 6 months in jail.
Ref: NJ Stat. §2C: 33-1
No criminal charge should be taken lightly. Anytime you stand the chance to be deprived of your freedom, you should take every legal action possible to ensure this doesn’t happen.
The first, and perhaps most important step in your defense is finding a lawyer you can count on—someone to look out for your rights and advocate for you when it feels as if everyone else is against you.
Contact me to discuss the details of your case and potential defense strategies we can work on. I will give you a free consultation and some valuable legal advice.
Call Now for a Criminal Consultation